Tom Longboat Winners made official

By: Neil Becker Sports Reporter You can bet it was a thrilling moment for James Lavalle and Joy Spearchief-Morris who were voted this year’s recipient of the prestigious Tom Longboat Award. The Tom Longboat Award, which was created in 1951 for the praising and pointing out the accomplishments of Aboriginal athletes for all they bring to Canadian sports, will recognize this year’s winners on November 9th at Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame’s 2017 Induction Celebrations. “The Aboriginal Sports Circle is very pleased to recognize these two outstanding athletes and their contributions to sport and community development,” Heather Kaulbach, Executive Director Aboriginal Sports Circle said. “We celebrate the positive role models they represent both for our youth and leaders of tomorrow” Lavallee is on the Junior National Canoe/Kayak team, while Spearchief-Morris…

This content is for Yearly Subscription and Trial Subscription members only.
Log In Register

Add Your Voice

Is there more to this story? We'd like to hear from you about this or any other stories you think we should know about. Contribute your voice on our contribute page.