57th Six Nations Elected Council sworn in

By Alex Riese Writer The 57th Six Nations Elected Council was sworn in on Dec. 2 at the Six Nations Tourism building. The new council was introduced, most of whom retained their seats from the previous term – the only newcomers were District One’s Audrey Powless-Bomberry and District Three’s Charlie Wayne Martin. The councillors then spoke an oath swearing their loyalty to the Six Nations of the Grand River, and signed a contract swearing themselves in Elected Chief Ava Hill  highlighted some of the 56th council’s successes, which included holding galas for the fire depeartment, supporting the Save the Evidence campaign in support of residential school survivors  and overseeing the construction improvement of buildings and infrastructure. During her speech, Hill spoke mainly of keeping communication lines open with governmental and…

This content is for Yearly Subscription, Yearly Subscription – Corporate, and Print Subscription Only members only.
Log In Register

Add Your Voice

Is there more to this story? We'd like to hear from you about this or any other stories you think we should know about. Contribute your voice on our contribute page.