Three newly elected Indigenous MLAs to serve in Alberta Legislature

By Shari Narine  Local Journalism Initiative Reporter Lesser Slave Lake has chosen an Indigenous representative to sit as a member of the governing party in the Alberta Legislature. The last Indigenous member to hold that riding was Pearl Calahasen. UCP candidate Scott Sinclair took Lesser Slave Lake in the May 29 general election. He will join two Indigenous NDP members in the legislature, both elected in Edmonton ridings. The last time three Indigenous MLAs served in Alberta was from 2004 to 2008 when terms overlapped for Progressive Conservative members Calahasen (1989-2015), Mike Cardinal (1989-2008) and Frank Oberle (2004-2015). The May 29 general election saw the United Conservative Party (UCP) returned to power with a smaller government, dropping from 63 seats to 49. Forty-four seats were required to form a majority government. The…

This content is for Yearly Subscription and Yearly Subscription – Corporate members only.
Log In Register

Add Your Voice

Is there more to this story? We'd like to hear from you about this or any other stories you think we should know about. Contribute your voice on our contribute page.