Chiefs From Treaties 6, 7 And 8 Territories Oppose Controversial Metis Nation Self Governance Bill

By Jeremy Appel  Local Journalism Initiative Reporter As Metis Nation of Alberta (MNA) members announce that  Andrea Sandmaier has been elected president in their first election under the Otipemisiwak self-governance framework, First Nations are criticizing how the new MNA governance structure was foisted upon them without consultation. They are joining voices with several Metis groups who have also expressed concerns. Chiefs from Treaties 6, 7 and 8 announced they were joining Ontario First Nations in opposition to Bill C-53, which was tabled by the federal government on June 21. The proposed legislation formalizes the Canadian government’s recognition of “certain” Metis governments in Alberta, Saskatchewan and Ontario as self-governing entities constitutionally on par with First Nations. Assembly of First Nations Interim National Chief Joanne Bernard called the bill a “colonial piece…

This content is for Yearly Subscription, Yearly Subscription – Corporate, and Print Subscription Only members only.
Log In Register

Add Your Voice

Is there more to this story? We'd like to hear from you about this or any other stories you think we should know about. Contribute your voice on our contribute page.