Assembly of First Nations new National Chief is Cindy Woodhouse

By Lisa Iesse Writer OTTAWA-Manitoba Regional Chief Cindy Woodhouse has emerged as the next leader of the Assembly of First Nations after six rounds of voting. Neither of the two final candidates reached the 60 per cent threshold needed to win, nearly pushing the AFN into a seventh round of voting Thursday (Dec. 7) morning. But Pratt conceded to Woodhouse before another round of voting was put to the assembly. After the sixth ballot Woodhouse grabbed 234 votes or 50.8  percent of the vote. Close at her heels was David Pratt with 181 votes or 39.3 percent of the votes cast. Woodhouse remained in the lead for all six rounds. Reginald Bellerose and Craig Makinaw, were dropped after the first ballot. Dean Sayers was dropped after the second ballot. Sheila…

This content is for Yearly Subscription, Yearly Subscription – Corporate, and Print Subscription Only members only.
Log In Register

Add Your Voice

Is there more to this story? We'd like to hear from you about this or any other stories you think we should know about. Contribute your voice on our contribute page.