Who will become Manitoba’s next premier? A look at party leaders vying for the job

PC Leader Heather Stefanson, NDP Leader Wab Kinew and Liberal Leader Dougald Lamont faced off at a leaders radio debate on CJOB Monday morning. (Darryl Dyck, John Woods, David Lipnowski/The Canadian Press) WINNIPEG- Manitoba’s provincial election is to take place Tuesday. Here’s a look at the leaders of the province’s three parties that have seats in the legislature.   Heather Stefanson, Progressive Conservative Leader Age: 53. Born May 11, 1970. Pre-Politics: Political science degree from the University of Western Ontario. Worked as a special assistant in the Office of the Prime Minister under Brian Mulroney before returning to Manitoba in 1993 as an assistant to then-agriculture minister Charlie Mayer. Also worked as a financial planner at Wellington West Capital. Politics: Won a byelection in 2000 replacing former premier Gary Filmon as…

This content is for Yearly Subscription, Yearly Subscription – Corporate, and Print Subscription Only members only.
Log In Register

Add Your Voice

Is there more to this story? We'd like to hear from you about this or any other stories you think we should know about. Contribute your voice on our contribute page.